Extended Composition

Sound of movement, movement of sound

Wednesday, 22 September, at 18:00
150–250 kr

One ticket includes both parts

18.00 Marmorsalen
19.30 Gymsalen

NOK 100/150 for one concert
NOK 150/250 for both concerts

18.00 Marmorsalen

The Hands. The Double (2021, WP)
Henrik Hellstenius & Ellen Ugelvik/Kristin Ryg Helgebostad
Ellen Ugelvik, piano/movement
Henrik Hellstenius, electronics

Ensemble Studies I (2021, WP)
Tanja Orning & ensemble:
Tanja Orning, Helga Myhr, Gry Kipperberg, Camilla Eeg-Tverbakk

A laboratory of collaborations highlighting the polyphony of sound, movement, language and images. Composers and musicians are increasingly looking for sources beyond sound, to expand the language of composition and performance. 

Extended Compositions is a research project at Norges Musikkhøgskole led by Henrik Hellstenius with Tanja Orning, Ellen Ugelvik, Christian Blom and Camilla Eeg-Tverbakk. 

The project has been dedicated to creating works that incorporate the body and other elements into musical compositions.

The Hands. The Double confuses the ears and eyes about whether sounds are emanating from the two instruments or from pianist Ellen Ugelvik’s limbs. Composed musical sound and bodily movements explore similarities and differences, both coming from one performer and two keyboards.

In Ensemble Studies, a violinist, a dancer, a cellist and an actor explore transitions and borders between the collective and the individual, between  hierarchical states, between virtuosity and amateurism.  Central to the investigation are the sound of movement and the movement of sound.

Read more about the concert at 7.30 PM under "related events".

In collaboration with

Norges Musikkhøgskole (NMH), NOTAM


Jørn Erik Ahlsen Alkanger