Det Norske Kammerorkester: Vrede

Musical war stories

Saturday, 24 September, at 19:00
150–450 kr

Showings and tickets

Saturday, 24/09

Sentralen (Marmorsalen)
150–450 kr

Tickets will be available in June.

Battle sounds, funeral marches and mourning in this programme of war music.

Heinrich Ignaz Biber: Battalia á 10 (1673)
Karl Amadeus Hartmann: Concerto Funebre (Begravelseskonsert) for fiolin og strykere (1939/1959)
George Crumb: Black Angels for elektrisk strykerkvartett (1970)

The unthinkable happened in 2022: war broke out on European soil. For this special themed programme, Det Norske Kammerorkester have selected three pieces of music spanning three centuries that in very different ways reveal the anxiety, sadness and anger provoked by war.

The Battalia for 10 players, by German baroque composer Heinrich Ignaz Biber, is an attempt to depict the noise and clamour of battle. In lively and humorous style, it includes instrumental effects represent musket shots and blows. There is also a lament for the wounded musketeers.

‘If you hold up a mirror to the world so that she acknowledges her hideous face,’ wrote Karl Amadeus Hartmann about his Concerto Funebre (Funereal Concerto), ‘she may eventually change for the better.’ With Nazi Germany’s invasion of Czechoslovakia burning in his mind as he composed, Hartmann allowed a string of repressed emotions to run through the piece. Tension and anger rise to the surface in harsh outbursts. The Funereal Concerto is loaded with ‘the intellectual and spiritual hopelessness of the period’.

George Crumb, who died in early 2022, was an innovator in terms of form, texture and subject matter. There’s no way of hiding that Black Angels is a raw, harsh and at times painful listen – but that’s what you would expect from a work inspired by the horrors of the Vietnam War. Subtitled 13 Images From the Dark Land, the music includes references to Schubert's Death and the Maiden and the Requiem’s Dies Irae. With instruments including tuned glasses, vocals and amplified strings, Crumb’s masterpiece approaches the mental horrors of war.

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Det Norske Kammerorkester. Photo: Bård Gundersen.

Artistic director

Pekka Kuusisto


Patricia Kopatchinskaja


Det Norske Kammerorkester

In collaboration with

Det Norske Kammerorkester